Live Tweeting Offers Positives, Negatives for Covering Events

I gave live tweeting a try for the first time this week when I used Twitter to cover the Northeastern vs. Hofstra men’s basketball game at Matthews Arena on Saturday afternoon. Given my work as an announcer for WRBB radio and as a reporter for The Huntington News I’ve covered quite a few Husky sporting events.

Northeastern's Reggie Spencer at the free throw line.

The challenge was finding a way to incorporate Twitter in a way that would inform my followers who have interest in the game, yet not tweet so often that other followers with no interest would be filled with tweets they won’t read. In many ways I feel this is the biggest challenge for Twitter users: How much tweeting is enough?

I began by sending a tweet at 12:10 p.m. a few minutes into the game to let my followers know I was there and that the game had just begun. Throughout the game I used the hashtags #CAAHoops and #GoNU so that fans of the Colonial Athletic Association (the conference Northeastern and Hofstra are in) and Northeastern fans would know to follow me. For the majority of the game I tweeted every 10 to 15 minutes with updates on how the game was going, as well as posting some pictures of the action. I also made sure to throw in some retweets from other users at the game.

Overall I had 14 tweets related to the game and CAA basketball on Saturday. I felt like that was enough to give insight into the game while not overloading my followers. I noticed I was gaining followers as the game went on, which shows at least some users found my posts useful, which is good. At the same time I found it somewhat difficult to concentrate entirely on the action as I tweeted.

As a first experience using Twitter I thought my experience was generally positive, but I’m new to Twitter so I still have a lot to get used to.

Leave a Reply

